XZ3 arrives…”in da house”

Yes, “in da house” for all you kids out there who like to talk the talk and walk the walk and pretend that you are from the streets.

Hmmm. I’ve been in the iOS camp for the last few weeks and have been enjoying it. I did however preorder this a few weeks back, well before the iPhone XS Max arrived, thinking it would solve all my XZ2 issues and get me back on the Android trail.

First impressions are that it is quite tall and thin. That seems to be the way nowadays on the Android front, all this 18:9 ratio screen thing which I have nixed emotions about. It is good that it makes phones feel narrower but at the same time it makes the screen narrower and you end up with squashed/cramped keyboards. Not so great if you have large fingers though. It is a tad taller than the iPhone but narrower and a bit thicker. Luckily it seems quite a bit thinner than the chunky/girthy XZ2 and certainly more than the 2mm actual difference would suggest.

So, what about these screens that leak into the side? I know there will be plenty of Samsung fanboys out there who are well used to them and who swear by them but I’m not convinced, there’s a bit of oddness going on at the side curve, the colours look odd. I can’t see any benefit from it as any text that flows around off the screen doesn’t look great plus there is this almost ghostly glow to it.

A couple of annoyances. Firstly, it ships with a crappy charger a la iPhone…no fast charger supplied in the box. Come on Sony, how do you think that looks? Secondly, like the XZ2 it is very slippery. It slides all over the place, falls off the sofa, falls off any surface that is not 100% flat. Doesn’t sound annoying but believe me, it is.

More to come.

Leave a comment