Work BlackBerries

Our new work BlackBerries were delivered to the office at the end of last week. They are the 8520 model which is a stripped down version of the BB 9700, no chrome trim, smaller 2.0 megapixel camera, lower res screen, less memory (I imagine) but it has the better keyboard sported by the Curve 8900. They’ve not been set up yet properly by our IT guys so we are under strict instructions not to open the boxes until they come up in person to the office on Wednesday. A bit frustrating but I’m not that excited about the whole thing anyway.

They wouldn’t let me use my own SIM in it and continue to use my personal Gmail account alongside their exchange set up or perhaps it just couldn’t be done anyway, I don’t know. Either way, I’m now in the dreaded carrying 2 phones around camp and need to decide whether it will be the HTC Hero or the Pre with the 8520.

One Response to “Work BlackBerries”

  1. Shaun Says:

    How odd- I am getting an 8520 on Monday from work. Trying to use the BES account with my 9700 instead. You should still be able to use the GMail app with the 8520 alongside your work BES email.


Leave a Reply

