Someday maybe

Here I am with this powerful home computer and what do I end up doing 95% of the time? Yep, surfing the big worldwide web and checking email. Oh dear. I could do that on a £300 netbook.

It has been like that for years though. There are so many times that I have had these bright ideas during the day about using it to do something really useful and yet by the time I get home after work, get the kids fed and then entertain them until their bedtime I’m just too knacked, or too lazy rather, to entertain the notion of anything other than some soothing web action.

Over the past couple of years I’ve thought to myself…this will be the month that I finally use my MacBook to start learning a foreign language or finally start compiling that Home inventory in case the house burns down or finally start editing and combining all those home videos I have shot on the HD Kodak video recorder  but I never seem to be able to muster the necessary enthusiasm. I keep reading all these articles on various sites about how to do this and how to do that and I diligently bookmark them for later reference but seldom get around to actually doing anything. Often, I’ll open up the bookmark, have a quick peruse of the task/job in hand and them dismiss it as looking like too much hard work.

Leave a Reply

