Paypal dispute resolved

I sent back the faulty Samsung Galaxy on Monday and received confirmation today that the seller had refunded the full amount to my PayPal account which is a relief as the whole transaction was a bit stressful. I’ve learned my lesson and will never buy anything remotely expensive, such as a smartphone, from eBay again without receiving the receipt from the seller. All a bit disappointing really, you buy something in good faith and then learn the harsh way that some people on eBay can be a bit unscrupulous. I suspect the phone fell off the back of some bus somewhere…

Shortly after I then received an email from eBay from the seller asking for the dispute to be closed and I was just about to click the button to close it when I noticed the following message from the seller, obviously addressed to eBay in an attempt to recoup her initial selling fees:

BUYER SAYS PHONE IS DAMAGED ALTHOUGH PHONE WAS PERFECT WORKING ORDER ON SENDING OUT AND WAS PROPERLY PACKED. I FEEL THE BUYER HAS DAMAGED THE PHONE AND DEMANDED A REFUND ALONG WITH ABUSIVE EMAILS, THEN HE OPENED A DISPUTE, I HAD NO OPTION TO REFUND THE FULL AMOUNT BUT I AM NOW LEFT WITH A PHONE WHICH IS NO LONGER BRAND NEW, DAMAGED WITH DAMAGED BOX NOW OR RESELLABLE AT THE ORIGINAL PRICE, I NOW HAVE LOSS OF MY SALES FEES AND WOULD LIKE TO CLAIM THEM BACK AS I AM OUT OF POCKET, THANK YOU

Cheeky sod…”abusive emails” my arse, I was nothing less than civil to her the whole time, As for the bit about being left with a phone that is unsaleable and the “damaged” box, that is codswallop. Thing is, the phone is knacked and was knacked when she sent it out to me. She claims she got it on contract from o2 and if so she should have a receipt and thus all she has to do is take it back to o2 and get it exchanged. I suspect she has no receipt especially after I asked for it several times and my request was met with a deafening silence.

All in all, by far the most unpleasant eBay buying experience I have had to date but luckily it is now all finished and for that I should be grateful. Still, I now feel very indisposed to pressing that email link button after she had the temerity to make up a whole load of untruths, as quoted above. Any suggestions??

Leave a Reply

