Happy 50th to Simon and his new MBPro

old computerSimon, aka “Statto’, is hitting the big 50 tomorrow so I’d like to wish him a good birthday. The lucky chap is getting a MacBook Pro 13 inch model, well it actually arrived a few days but his wife wouldn’t let him open it until tomorrow. Boo…nevermind Simon, the big day is almost here. Simon went for the same model I’d have gone for too, the 160gb hard drive one which is a few hundred cheaper than the slightly faster and 250gb next up model. I think the 2.2ghz model will be well quick enough for what he intends to use it for.

Simon has used Windows for a number of years so this is a big change for him. I’m lucky enough to have used, for 10 years now, both Windows and Mac on a near daily basis so I am up to speed on the ins and outs of both but I think Simon is going to be starting from scratch on the Mac learning curve. Good luck mate….

Just a couple of links that I hope will be useful to anyone thinking of making the jump. This one covers the multitude of useful keyboard shortcuts, of which there are many on a Mac, and is one I wish I’d found 9 years ago. This one is a good list of useful and free “open source” Mac software.

One Response to “Happy 50th to Simon and his new MBPro”

  1. Simon Says:

    Hi Murray, and thank you very much for your good wishes!
    I’m posting this via my shiny new MBP, and so far I have to say I’m well chuffed (that’s very happy to our American friends) with the Mac.
    I’ve already been downloading and installing stuff, and it’s all gone swimmingly well so far. Haven’t even had time to dwell on passing that momentous 50th year bit. On the plus side, I qualify for SAGA holidays now! LOL


Leave a Reply

