Palm Apps not being updated

Th55r_1_s
I don't have a lot of stuff on my Clie TH55, quite a few of my usual stalwarts have not been loaded on as I have not been able to get the wifi internet connection set up. That sounds like I have been trying for a while but in actuality I tried for the first few days then gave up when I realised the only way I could get it working was to change the security key on the Aiport base station to a less secure one. I'm not that bothered about having a technically less secure network but rather am more concerned about ballsing up the existing set up and losing the wifi signal.

Anyway, I realised how many of my most oft used Palm apps are ones that require an internet connection to work, stuff like Weather Infinity, RSS Neeews and SnapperMail for example. The TH55 seems a bit threadbare now by comparison, I don't know, perhaps I should re-try that wifi set up again to get fuller use from it.

The stuff that I am using on the TH55 is mostly stuff I use for work, DocsToGo, Repligo, ListPro and TMP amongst others. Repligo has not been updated for Palm for years but still works a treat, DocsToGo continues to get regularly updated but TMP looks to have died a death on the development front but still does the job extremely well. Some of these older Palm applications have lasted the pace and are still as good as other software on different platforms and the fact that many are unlikely to see further work does not detract from their continuing useability.

Posted in palm. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Palm Apps not being updated”

  1. elbowz Says:

    You could always get a cheap second wifi access point, daisy chain it from an ethernet port on your router and then setup the weaker security on that. Gets you onto the network without risking ballsing up the existing setup.


Leave a Reply

