MacUpdate software Bundle

Last week, I finally bought 1Password after trialling it for a couple of weeks. I like, no make that lurrrrve, the way it syncs with the free iPhone version and thus I can keep everything up to date. Not cheap at Β£25 plus for the desktop software but it is very good. I'd have done the same with eWallet but there is no mac desktop version and my work PC is a wifi free zone so that rules out keeping everything in sync. What I didn't quite lurrrrve so much was 2 days later, picking up the latest MacWorld UK magazine in Sainsburys and finding out there is full, free version of 1Password on their DVD disc. Had I bought the mag 2 days earlier etc etc etc…

Macgourmet
Feeling a bit deflated I decided to get my revenge on developers by snapping up the latest MacUpdate Bundled software pack, 10 mac apps for $49 is rather good value. You wonder how though much the developers will make from this? 

The ones I can certainly see myself using on a regular basis are – RapidWeaver 4, MacPilot, Default Folder X, Drive Genuis, iVolume, MacGourmet Deluxe, KeyCue and possibly the Net Barrier Virus thingy application. I had been looking at Drive Genius out of fear for a while and it alone would have come near the $49 bundle asking price so the overall cost has to represent extremely good value. Thing is, if you use about two or three at the most you will still be saving some dosh.

It turned out to be a bit of a download fest on Sunday night, I had 10 downloads going at the same time and all these DMG files were filling up the desktop. It took me about 20 minutes to get all the entries into 1Password and by the time everything had downloaded, been installed, registered I had no time to play with any of them except just open them up and have very brief poke around.

Posted in mac. 1 Comment »

One Response to “MacUpdate software Bundle”

  1. David A Teare Says:

    I’m glad to hear you lurrrrve 1Password’s iPhone sync feature! That is music to my ears πŸ™‚
    As for the Macworld UK promo we participated in last month, I’m sorry you were 2 days late, but just for the record, that is a non-upgradable version of 1Password. As the saying goes, the first sample is always free πŸ™‚
    In any event, we certainly do not want you to feel cheated in anyway, we only exist because of our customers and so I want you to happy. Feel free to contact me for a full refund if you want one.
    Cheers!
    –Dave Teare
    Co-author of 1Password


Leave a Reply

