ListPro for the iPhone delayed…..back to Things

Thanks to Julie at Ilium for pointing me in the direction of this blog post from Ilium.

Obviously for die-hard ListPro users like myself it is disappointing news but that's the way it goes and you have to admire them for their honesty and open-ness. Luckily, I have sort of reverted back to the palm Treo 680 of late and I have full ListPro access through that. In fact, not having ListPro on the iPhone and missing it is one of the main reasons why I am still carrying the 680 around.

Things
Some of the things Marc is saying in his post surprise me though, particularly the bits about concentrating on the Windows platform but that is probably down to me not being entirely au fait with how these things work. I would have thought that the vast majority of iPhone users were also mac, as opposed to windows, users so that makes it hard for me to appreciate why Ilium would regard the windows platform as being more financially important to them. If 80% of the people who are potentially going to be buying your product are mac users then why place such emphasis on the 20% who use windows? Different of course if the iPhone was running Windows Mobile….

Perhaps I am completely missing the point here and there is in fact a huge swathe of windows iPhone users out there but I have to say, not one of the folk I know with an iPhone uses windows. I'm not the expert here of course and Ilium will know far more and far better than I so certainly wouldn't want to doubt they have some jolly good reasons for adopting this strategy.

Anyway, this has forced my hand a bit and having been using the iPhone the last few days I have gone back to using Things as my ToDo and List application. It's not nearly as good as ListPro for the latter option, not by a long shot, but it is very handy for quickly adding stuff that needs to be done and sticking it in different categories. The desktop version also syncs with the iPhone version which is a big bonus. I last tried the desktop version a month or so ago and chickened out of buying it however they seem to have gone back into a free trial until it is officially released next January so I can use it until then. All a bit odd methinks.

Things is actually quite nice and offers syncing options to iCal for todos. I have set it up to sync these with my Entourage ToDos and it works well.

Ewallet nested
I have got into this daft situation where I have applications that I use on my work PC that are windows only and stuff on my home mac that is mac only and never the twain shall meet. This causes hassle. For example I use eWallet on the 680 and I have the desktop version at work. This syncs perfectly to my Treo but the iPhone version has no mac desktop therefore I am trying to keep two mobile versions of the same app in sync and have to do this manually. I have to manually enter on the iPhone new entries made onto the PC desktop version. There is an iPhone desktop version for windows but I can't use that at work as I have no wifi setup there (IT restrictions) and no way of getting stuff from desktop to iPhone.

I need therefore to make a decision…do I start afresh and seek out replacement apps that are mac only and which I can use/sync to the iPhone or do I keep juggling apps around on different platforms? Or do I install one of those windows emulator style apps for the mac that will allow me to run windows apps on my home mac?

Leave a Reply

